Skip to content

A Wonderful Review by Summer Kinard

August 20, 2013

I am honored and delighted that Summer Kinard, author of the bestselling novel, Can’t Buy Me Love has not only read  A Sinner in Paradise, but liked it and gave it a wonderful review on Amazon!  Thank you Summer!   Here is her review.  Anybody reading Sinner now, or who has read it and hasn’t gotten around to writing a review yet, you can just copy and paste this one.  ; )

A coming of age love story that draws you in, August 17, 2013

By 
 
I was fortunate enough to read an advance review copy of this book. I admit that I was hesitant about loving the main character at first. Like any oldest child, I couldn’t help getting annoyed with Geneva (the protagonist) for some of her younger sister-style foibles. But she made me laugh and cry, and I loved her anyway! The setting in this book is beautifully written throughout, so that the sense of place shines through and carries the reader right into the story. The supporting characters are wonderfully drawn, with rich local flavor. There are so many things to love about this book, besides the fact that it had me alternately gasping in awe at beautiful passages, crying like Peter Rabbit, and chortling loud enough to send my children running to find out what’s so funny. Here are a few:
-A wonderful sister relationship
-Well-drawn characters
-Gorgeous mountain scenery, vividly written
-Holy Miracle Jones
-Horsemanship that is realistic (rather than stilted and awkward as one often encounters in romances)
-People with virtue
-Loyalty among the characters
-A memorable and beautiful love scene that didn’t make me worry that my grandma was peeking at me from heaven
-One of the funniest endings I’ve read.
-Healing and faith worked out in gentle everyday fashion.

I could go on, but I am trying my best to avoid spoilers. I am so glad that I read this book here near the end of summer. I can imagine it being a great autumn, winter, or spring read as well, of course, but in the summer, my tea doesn’t go cold quite as soon. I wound up sacrificing several good cups of tea to my absorption in the story. The only thing lacking is an on-location vacation! I hope that the author eventually offers reader tours of the locations in the story, because I have fallen in love with the mountains in the pages!

I highly recommend this to lovers of women’s fiction. There are a few small anachronisms in regards to technology, but on the whole, the story stays well within its time while speaking accessibly to modern readers. The story has rich elements of Christian faith and maintains discretion on intimate matters. I plan to recommend it to my friends who love Christian fiction as well as mainstream women’s fiction.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

